Turner Prize winners by year

turner prize winners 2

 Turner Prize winners

turner prize winners 2
turner prize winners

Turner Prize winners art awards are awarded to British contemporary artist. This art prize event is organized by Tate Gallery of Britain. The Turner Prize started its journey from 1984. It first started with conceptual art. Art & Language was nominated in 1986 and Terry Atkinson, a member of Art & Language was nominated in 1985.

Turner prize winners 1984

Turner Prize 1984 winning prize went to Malcolm Morley for his art installation of his two oil-on-canvas paintings. He was inspired by his journey to Greece. He was living in New York for 20 years so giving him the prize created controversy. In that year Richard Long, Richard Deacon and Golbert & George were other turner prize nominees. Lord Gowrie, Minister of Arts awarded the prize.

Winner of Turner Prize 1985

turner prize winners 3
Turner Prize winners are the best artists in the UK

Turner Prize 1985 winner was Howard Hodgkin for his art work A Small Thing But My Own. In 1985 Turner prize other nominees were  Terry Atkinson, sculptor Tony Cragg, Ian Hamilton Finlay, Milena kalinovska and John Walker who is a painting or printing artist. Celebritey presenter Sir Richard Attenborough awarded the prize.

Turner Prize winners 1986

In 1986 Turner Prize winners were Gilbert & George after the nomination of 1984. In this year other nominees were Art & Language, a group compose of Michael Baldwin and Mel Ramsden, printing artist Victor Burgin, painting artist Derek Jarman, painter Stephen Mckenna and sculptor Bill Woodrow.

Turner Prize winners and nominees 1987

Richard Deacon who is an sculpture was awarded Turner Prize 1987. Other artists who were nominated were Painter Patrick Caulfield, Helen Chadwick, DeclanMcGonagle, and Richard Long. In 1987 turner prize was awarded by George Melly.

1988 Turner Prize winners

turner prize winners 5
turner prize winners 5

Tony Cragg won the Turner Prize 1988. This year other nominees were figurative painter Lucian Freud, Richard Hamilton, a pop artist, Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art graduate sculptor Alison Wilding and Richard Wilson. The award was given by Alan Yentob.

In 1988 Tate Director nocholas Serota changed so many things for Turner Prize. He introduced annual renag of art collection. He gave priority of Modern art and Contemporary Art. The future was not certain and the prize was modified to an artist-only prize. They even did not published the shortlist and any solo exhibition.

Turner Prize winners & nominees 1989

Richard Long who is an installation artist and Sculpture was awarded Turner Prize 1989. There were three previous nominations. Lots of debates were against this prize giving. Long was awarded for his whole life’s work but not for a particular exhibition of 1989. This year other turner prize winners & nominees were Painter Gillian Ayres, painter Lucian Freud, sculptor Giuseppe Penone who was born in Italy.

Other artists were painter Paula Rego, another abstract painter Sean Scully and Richard Wilson. For the first time the prize was awarded to Guiseppe Penone for his strength of exhibition in Britain.

Turner Prize winners 1990

For Turner Prize 1990 there was no sponsor and as a result no price was given. Director of Tate and Chairman of Turner Prize Nicholas Serota introduced the system that general citizen can select the Turner Prize shortlist artist and from there the winner artist.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s